Recipe Of The Day: Chia Crackers

I must admit, I’m a sucker for crackers.

All kinds of crackers.

From Triscuit to Ritz cheese bites (aren’t those a trip down memory lane? I always got them as my afternoon snack back in kindergarten), I swear, do NOT hand me a box of crackers, or I’ll finish it all in 15 minutes.

When I first bought that 300-g bag of chia seeds, I wondered how I was gonna use it up.

So I just thought “Hey, crackers.”

And came up with a 3-ingredient recipe. 3 ingredients. Chances are you’ve already got them all in your pantry if you’re here looking up chia recipes.

20150608_213600

They taste better than they look, I promise! Blame the 6AM lighting

          Add chive and onion cream cheese and fresh veggies, and you’ve got the perfect healthy snack! Fast, inexpensive, quick to make and chock-full of nutrients: can it get better?

20150609_102246


          Recipe for Homemade Chia Crackers (makes around 4 servings of 7 crackers each)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup water

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Combine together flour, chia seeds and salt. Add in water and mix well until a dough is formed.
  3. Thinly roll out the dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper.
  4. Remove the piece of paper on top, then cut dough into bite-sized rectangles. Transfer to a baking tray and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the outside is crispy.

Nutrition info:

Nutrition Label chia crackers

          I’ve been so busy lately… taking some time for myself is a relief for sure! Lately I’ve started practicing yoga at home, beat my personal best 10k time and took up piano…more and more personal projects coming up for this summer! I’ll try my best to keep posting as often as I can… I promise!

          -AF

Leave a Reply

